The Format of NFL Championships

The NFL is undoubtedly one of the biggest sports leagues in the USA. It currently has a total of 32 teams, split into two conferences. Each conference has 16 member teams. The champions of each conference meet in a single championship game to claim the title of the NFL. This title has come to be termed as the Superbowl. The Superbowl is among the world’s largest sporting event.


The NFL has come a long way to become what it is today. It was inaugurated in 1920. The initial stages of the league did not feature playoff matches or any championship game. The winner of the league was determined through a win percentage ratio. This calculation did not include the ties. Notably, the teams did not play an equal number of matches. As a result, it was subject to many disputed results. The officials had to come in and resolve those disputes.

Harmonized Competition

The NFL decided to introduce a single championship game to determine the league’s champion. In 1933 the teams were divided into two divisions. These divisions later came to be called conferences as from 1950. The winners in each division were determined through a won/loss percentage.

In 1960 a rival league was created, and it was renamed the American Football League (AFL). It gained popularity, and soon NFL superstars started migrating to the AFL. In 1966 a merger between the two leagues was proposed. The costly bidding wars across the two leagues influenced this trend. A merger was later announced that year, which was effective from 1970.

From 1966 through to 1969, winners from both leagues played in a single championship game. This match later came to be termed as the Superbowl. Following the merger in 1970, the Superbowl was used by the NFL as a way of determining the champions